Past winners of WTA Tour Championships

The 2007 Sony Ericsson Championships begins on Tuesday, and the round-robin draw has been announced today, so let’s remind ourselves of the past champions of this tournament.

1971: Billie Jean King
1972: Chris Evert
1973: Chris Evert
1974: Evonne Goolagong
1975: Chris Evert
1976: Evonne Goolagong
1977: Chris Evert
1978: Martina Navratilova
1979: Martina Navratilova
1980: Tracy Austin
1981: Martina Navratilova
1982: Sylvia Hanika
1983: Martina Navratilova
1984: Martina Navratilova
1985: Martina Navratilova
1986 (1): Martina Navratilova
1986 (2): Martina Navratilova
1987: Steffi Graf
1988: Gabriela Sabatini
1989: Steffi Graf
1990: Monica Seles
1991: Monica Seles
1992: Monica Seles
1993: Steffi Graf
1994: Gabriela Sabatini
1995: Steffi Graf
1996: Steffi Graf
1997: Jana Novotna
1998: Martina Hingis
1999: Lindsay Davenport
2000: Martina Hingis
2001: Serena Williams
2002: Kim Clijsters
2003: Kim Clijsters
2004: Maria Sharapova
2005: Amelie Mauresmo
2006: Justine Henin-Hardenne

In the past, the season-ending Championships generally took place in the United States, with the exceptions of 2001 when it was held in Germany, and in 2006 when it took place in Spain. This year it is again organized in Madrid, Spain, November 6-11. However, in the future some other cities will host the event, i.e. Doha and Istanbul.

Tell friends about this!Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook
Email this to someone

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *